Yuma Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
Jail Sentencing for Domestic Violence in Arizona
In the State of Arizona, domestic violence is typically a misdemeanor that could result in up to 30 days in jail and/or $500 in fines. However, domestic violence is closely linked to assault & battery and could result in enhanced penalties depending on the circumstances.
A charge of domestic violence, even without a conviction, can lead to:
- Protective orders that prevent you from being able to see your children
- Lawsuits that can cost you thousands of dollars and affect your criminal history
- Changes to child custody and child support arrangements that will continue to affect you years later
What Is Domestic Violence?
If a person feels their safety is in jeopardy to a person residing in their same household, they can accuse that other person of domestic violence. While it is possible to prove your innocence in these matters, it is difficult. You should get help from an experienced Yuma criminal defense lawyer who has years of practice defending against these kinds of allegations.
Domestic violence is unique in that those who report the incident to police cannot drop the charges. Unfortunately, many people call the police in an effort to threaten the other person. There will be an arrest, and there will likely be jail time right away. The only person able to drop charges against someone accused of domestic violence will be the district attorney.
Domestic violence charges can be filed for:
- Disorderly conduct
Experienced Legal Counsel From Territorial Law, L.L.C.
Without an effective legal representative on your side, it will be extremely difficult to have this order overturned. At Territorial Law, we are committed to helping those accused of domestic violence to get the representation they need to fix their situation and continue their family relationships. Contact our Yuma domestic violence lawyer today to schedule your free consultation.