Extreme DUI Laws in Arizona
In Arizona, the legal BAC limit is .08, if an individual is caught operating a vehicle with a BAC above .08 they can be charged with a DUI. An “Extreme” DUI is when an individual's chemical test shows that they had a BAC of .15 or higher which comes with a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail.
To be charged with an extreme DUI, the chemical test must have been taken within 2 hours of the person driving or being in physical control of a vehicle.
A person convicted of their first offense could be subject to various penalties, which include:
- Minimum 30 days in jail; however, if their BAC was .20 the jail term increases to 45 days
- A fine of up to $250; however, if the person’s BAC was .20 or more, they could face a fine up to $500
- An additional assessment of $250 that is deposited to the DUI abatement fund
- Community restitution
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- A further assessment of $1,000 that goes to the prison construction and operations fund
- An additional assessment of $1,000 for the public safety fund
- Attend a traffic school course
Penalties for Multiple Extreme DUI Convictions
If a person is convicted of a second offense within 84 months, the penalties increase. The jail term becomes 120 days (60 days of which must be served consecutively) for a person caught with a BAC of .15 or more, and 180 days (90 of which must be done consecutively) if a chemical test resulted in a blood alcohol concentration of .20 or more. Additionally, the fines for the offset increase to $500 and $1,000. Additional fees for the prison construction and operations fund, as well as the public safety fund, also go up to $1,250 each.
Schedule a Free Consultation with Bowman, Smith & Kallen Today
If you’re facing a DUI charge, contact our attorneys as soon as possible for skilled legal defense. Together, we have over 100 years of experience, and we know how to challenge the evidence presented in your case. We will fight hard to protect your rights and freedoms.
For aggressive legal representation, call us at (928) 433-2355 or contact us online.